Inside Skating is in Paris for the Trophée Eric Bompard

The fifth Grand Prix event of the season, Trophée Eric Bompard, is just around the corner; and Inside Skating will bring you the stories, the duels, the emotions. At least a dozen skaters fighting for an Olympic medal next year in Sochi will be in Paris at the end of the week – and this makes the event even more interesting.

by Florentina Tone

Eric Bompard

Looking at the entry list, you know it’s going to be tough, especially in the men’s event: Patrick Chan vs. Yuzuru Hanyu (and I wouldn’t want to leave out the Chinese Yan Han, the American Jason Brown or the French Florent Amodio, winner of the bronze medal last year in Paris).

In the ladies’ event, the American Ashley Wagner – winner of last year’s edition of the trophy – will definitely try to defend her title against the talented Russian girls: Adelina Sotnikova and Anna Pogorilaya, the surprise winner of Cup of China.

In pairs, Meagan Duhamel and Eric Radford will attempt to get a brighter medal than the silver won last year at the Trophée Eric Bompard; but they’ll encounter a very experienced couple from China, Pang Qing and Jian Tong. Will join the fight the Russians Vera Bazarova and Yuri Larionov, on one hand, and the Americans Caydee Denney and John Coughlin, on the other hand.

Ice dancing event will definitely be my favorite of all, since I like no less then three couples – and their sets of programs for the Olympic season. I’m a huge fan of the Canadians Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir – I find them soft, beautiful and balletic; but I’m also a admirer of the French couple: this season’s free dance of Nathalie Péchalat and Fabian Bourzat – the rose and the little prince – is absolutely wonderful. Last but not least, I can’t wait to see Elena Ilinykh and Nikita Katsalapov skating their version of the Tchaikovski’s Swan Lake.

Let’s all have a wonderful Trophée Eric Bompard; and make sure you’ll visit

Here are the competitors:


1. Patrick Chan
2. Nan Song
3. Yan Han
4. Michal Brezina
5. Florent Amodio
6. Yuzuru Hanyu
7. Alexander Majorov
8. Jason Brown
9. Ross Minor*
* according to a press release coming from the U.S. Figure Skating, “Ross Miner, the reigning U.S. silver medalist, has withdrawn from 2013 Trophée Eric Bompard due to a right ankle sprain. The event will take place Nov. 15-17, in Paris. Miner, 22, is expected to resume training soon.

Yuzuru Hanyu (practice rink - 2012 Worlds in Nice)

Yuzuru Hanyu (practice rink – 2012 Worlds in Nice)


1. Amelie Lacoste
2. Maé Bérénice Méité
3. Anna Pogorilaya
4. Adelina Sotnikova
5. Viktoria Helgesson
6. Natalia Popova
7. Ashley Wagner
8. Christina Gao
9. Samantha Cesario


1. Meagan Duhamel and Eric Radford
2. Natasha Purich and Mervin Tran
3. Pang Qing and Jian Tong
4. Vanessa James and Morgan Ciprès
5. Annabelle Prolss and Ruben Blommaert
6. Nicole Della Monica and Matteo Guarise
7. Vera Bazarova and Yuri Larionov
8. Caydee Denney and John Coughlin

Pang Qing and Jian Tong, at the 2012 World Figure Skating Championships in Nice

Pang Qing and Jian Tong, at the 2012 World Figure Skating Championships in Nice


1. Nicole Orford and Thomas Williams
2. Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir
3. Gabriella Papadakis and Guillaume Cizeron
4. Nathalie Péchalat and Fabian Bourzat
5. Nelli Zhiganshina and Alexander Gazsi
6. Penny Coomes and Nicholas Buckland
7. Elena Ilinykh and Nikita Katsalapov
8. Ksenia Monko and Kiril Khaliavin

The competition schedule:

Friday 15 November
15:30 Pairs short program
17:00 Men short program
18:45 Short dance
20:10 Ladies short program

Saturday 16 November
14:10 Pairs free program
15:50 Men free program
Followed by pairs’ and men’s podiums

18:45 Free dance
20:15 Ladies free skate
Followed by ice dance and ladies’ podiums

Sunday 17 November
14:30 Exhibition

Last year’s winners of the Trophée Eric Bompard


1. Takahito Mura – Japan
2. Jeremy Abbott – United States
3. Florent Amodio – France


1. Ashley Wagner – United States
2. Elizaveta Tuktamysheva – Russia
3. Julia Lipnitskaia – Russia


1. Yuko Kavaguti and Alexander Smirnov – Russia
2. Meagan Duhamel anf Eric Radford – Canada
3. Stefania Berton and Ondrej Hotarek – Italy


1. Nathalie Péchalat and Fabian Bourzat – France
2. Anna Cappellini and Luca Lanotte – Italy
3. Ekaterina Riazanova and Ilia Tkachenko – Russia