Ready for the GP Season? Practice photos from 2022 Skate America

Ice dancers Kana Muramoto and Daisuke Takahashi practicing their Latino rhythm dance in Norwood, at 2022 Skate America

Today is the day: 2022 Skate America starts in Norwood, Massachusetts – the first out of the six GP events, culminating with the Final in Turin, in December.

Let’s have a recap, shall we?

October 21-23: 2022 Skate America, Norwood, Massachusetts, USA
October 28-30: 2022 Skate Canada, Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
November 4-6: 2022 Grand Prix de France, Angers, France
November 11-13: 2022 MK John Wilson Trophy, Sheffield, England
November 18-20: 2022 NHK Trophy, Sapporo, Japan
November 25-27: 2022 Grand Prix of Espoo, Espoo, Finland

December 8-11: 2022-2023 Grand Prix Final, Turin


Looking at 2022 Skate America’s roster, the first word that comes to mind is: impressive.

An impressive list of champions highlights the event – but also young stars looking to make their mark and dominate this Olympic cycle.

Take a look – and be amazed: reigning World champion Kaori Sakamoto, reigning World champions Alexa Knierim and Brandon Frazier, reigning Four Continents champion Junhwan Cha, three-time World medalists Madison Chock and Evan Bates.

And this is just the start of the list, continuing, among others, with 2018 Four Continents champions Kaitlin Hawayek and Jean-Luc Baker, 2022 Four Continents silver medalists Kana Muramoto and Daisuke Takahashi, 2018 Four Continents silver medalists Carolane Soucisse and Shane Firus, 2022 World junior champion Ilia Malinin, 2022 European silver medalist Daniel Grassl, 2022 Four Continents bronze medalist Kao Miura…

Find all entries here:

And, just before the event kicks off with the pairs’ SP, enjoy the wonderful photos from the official practice on October 20.

Once again: ready?

We sure are.


Madison Chock and Evan Bates

Kaitlin Hawayek and Jean-Luc Baker

Kana Muramoto and Daisuke Takahashi

Carolane Soucisse and Shane Firus

Marie-Jade Lauriault and Romain Le Gac

Lorraine McNamara and Anton Spiridonov

Loicia Demougeot and Theo Le Mercier

Mariia Holubtsova and Kyryl Bielobrov

Kaori Sakamoto

Rino Matsuike

Haein Lee

Amber Glenn

Gracie Gold

Yeonjeong Park

Ekaterina Kurakova

Ahsun Yun

Alexa Knierim and Brandon Frazier

Junhwan Cha

Kao Miura

Koshiro Shimada

Daniel Grassl

Ilia Malinin

Donovan Carillo

[Photos by C. Nguyen, Norwood
Intro by Florentina Tone]